Virginia State Police
Skip to Content
Contact Us    Quick Search Topics
Virginia State Police home page banner; 75-Year Anniversary logo; Trooper saluting American Flag

About VSP   Arrow graphic indicates this link includes subcategories.

separating line

AMBER Alert | Senior Alert

separating line

Criminal Record Check

separating line

Employment  Arrow graphic indicates this link includes subcategories.

separating line

Firearms / Concealed
Handguns

separating line

Forms & Publications

separating line

Law Enforcement
Services
  Arrow graphic indicates this link includes subcategories.

separating line

Missing Children | Persons

separating line

Safety Issues  Arrow graphic indicates this link includes subcategories.

separating line

Sex Offender Registry
Halloween Safety TipsHalloween Safety Tips

separating line

Vehicle Safety Inspection

separating line

Wanted Persons

separating line

VSP Org Chart

View Virginia State Police expenditures

          CALEA logo and link to a public notice

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Machine Gun Registration

§18.2-295 of Code of Virginia, as amended, requires every machine gun in the Commonwealth to be registered with the Department of State Police within 24 hours after its acquisition. A Certificate of Registration, valid as long as the registrant remains the same, shall be issued upon receipt of a completed Machine Gun Registration Application (Form SP-115).

This form can be viewed, downloaded and/or printed by visiting the Virginia State Police Forms page.

Failure to keep or produce a Certificate of Registration for inspection by any peace officer, shall be a Class 3 misdemeanor.

The Virginia State Police must be notified promptly of any change of information pertaining to the registration, such as change of address, telephone number, etc., to initiate receipt of an updated registration.

Upon transferring a registered machine gun, the transferor shall forthwith notify the Superintendent of State Police, in writing, setting forth the date of transfer and name and address of the transferee. Failure to give the required notification shall constitute a Class 3 misdemeanor.

Instructions for Completion of Form SP-115

Pursuant to the provisions of Title 18.2, Chapter 7, Article 5 of the Code of Virginia, as amended, every machine gun in the State shall be registered with the Department of State Police within 24 hours after its acquisition. A certificate of registration (SP-160), valid as long as the registrant remains the same, shall be issued upon receipt of a completed registration application. Failure to keep or produce such certificate for inspection, by any peace officer, shall be a Class 3 misdemeanor. Notify this agency promptly of any change of information pertaining to this registration; e.g., change of address, telephone number, etc., to initiate receipt of an updated record of registration. Upon transferring a registered machine gun, the transferor shall forthwith notify the Superintendent, in writing, setting forth the date of transfer and name and address of the transferee. Transfer of ownership may be reported via instructions provided on the certificate of registration (reverse side). Failure to give the required notification shall constitute a Class 3 misdemeanor.

NAME OF APPLICANT AND MAILING ADDRESS Insert full name of applicant, date of birth, complete street address and telephone number. Include the complete street address where the machine gun is located, if other than the residence address of the applicant. Information is required.

OCCUPATION State specific occupation; e.g., electrician, carpenter, police officer, etc. Do not use Titles or Ranks such as Vice President, Captain, Owner, etc.

EMPLOYER To be completed if the machine gun is to be located at the registrant’s place of business.

BUSINESS OR GOVERNMENT ENTITY NAME To be completed if the machine gun is to be located at the registrant’s place of business or government entity.

DEALER IDENTIFICATION NUMBER (DIN) To be completed if the registrant is a licensed firearms dealer registered with the State Police Firearms Transaction Center.

MACHINE GUN ACQUIRED FROM Full name and address of the individual or company the machine gun was acquired from, date of acquisition.

PURPOSE ACQUIRED FOR The purpose must comply with the provisions of Virginia Code 18.2-291.

MACHINE GUN MAKE AND MODEL, CALIBER, MODEL NUMBER, SERIAL NUMBER (self-explanatory) Machine guns modified by the installation of a sear kit must be registered. Registration is not required for the kit itself.

NAME AND ADDRESS OF ORIGINAL MANUFACTURER OR IMPORTER OF THE MACHINE GUN (self-explanatory)

APPLICANT CERTIFICATION Must be completed, including a LEGIBLE signature of the application. Application must be notarized.

Questions concerning the filing of the machine gun application should be directed to the Firearms Transaction Center, Criminal Justice Information Services Division, at (804) 674-4659. Please e-mail specific questions to: firearms@vsp.virginia.gov.

Forward completed application to:

Firearms Transaction Center
Virginia State Police
Post Office Box 85608
Richmond, Virginia 23285-5608