Virginia State Police
Skip to Content
Contact Us    Quick Search Topics
Virginia State Police home page banner; 75-Year Anniversary logo; Trooper saluting American Flag

About VSP   Arrow graphic indicates this link includes subcategories.

separating line

AMBER Alert | Senior Alert

separating line

Criminal Record Check

separating line

Employment  Arrow graphic indicates this link includes subcategories.

separating line

Firearms / Concealed
Handguns

separating line

Forms & Publications

separating line

Law Enforcement
Services
  Arrow graphic indicates this link includes subcategories.

separating line

Missing Children | Persons

separating line

Safety Issues  Arrow graphic indicates this link includes subcategories.

separating line

Sex Offender Registry

separating line

Vehicle Safety Inspection

separating line

Wanted Persons

separating line

VSP Org Chart

View Virginia State Police expenditures

          CALEA logo and link to a public notice

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Criminal Record Check

There are two methods of obtaining criminal history record name searches pursuant to §19.2-389 of the Code of Virginia. Listed below are the two required forms:

(1) Criminal History Records Check (SP-167)

Criminal history record dissemination is governed by Section 19.2-389 of the Code of Virginia.

Requests for criminal record searches must be executed by the submission of a signed and notarized “Criminal Record Name Search” form SP-167. The instructions for the completion of this form are included with the document. This form can be viewed, downloaded and/or printed by visiting the Virginia State Police Forms page.

Examples of entities/individuals eligible to use this form are:

(2) Criminal History Records Check (SP-230)

Criminal history record dissemination submitted on the SP-230 is governed by Section 19.2-389 of the Code of Virginia. Pursuant to this section, the following non-criminal justice entities are empowered to receive criminal record name searches using the SP-230 form. This form does not require notarization.

Submit an SP-230 form in conjunction with a $15.00 company check or money order to:

Department of State Police
Graphic: SP-230 link to forms pageP. O. Box 85076
Richmond, VA 23261-5076

Please allow 12-14 business days for processing. This form can be viewed, downloaded and/or printed by visiting the Virginia State Police Forms page.

The following agencies are entitled to receive complete criminal record information from CCRE as specified by law:

Please e-mail specific questions to: Criminal Record Check or call 804-674-2131.