Captain Thomas W. Turner, Division Commander
7700 Midlothian Turnpike
North Chesterfield, VA 23235
PO Box 27472
Richmond, VA 23261
Automated Fingerprint Identification System (AFIS) 804-674-6746
Central Criminal Records Exchange (CCRE) 804-674-6724
Criminal History Record Check 804-674-6718
Non-Criminal Justice Interface (NCJI) 804-674-4683
Firearms Transaction Center 804-674-2210
Live Scan/Mugshots Live Scan help: 804-674-6746 or e-mail
Sex Offender and Crimes Against Minors Registry 804-674-2825
Uniform Crime Reporting 804-674-2143
Virginia Criminal Information Network (VCIN) 804-674-2028
Virginia's Missing and Exploited Children 804-674-2265
The Criminal Justice Information Services Division (CJIS) oversees State operations involving:
- National Law Enforcement Telecommunications System (NLETS)
- National Crime Information Center (NCIC)
- Virginia Criminal Information Network (VCIN)
These systems provide criminal justice agencies throughout Virginia with rapid access to local, state and national files related to:
- wanted or missing persons
- stolen property including motor vehicles
- hazardous material spills
- severe weather conditions
- airplane crashes
CJIS also operates the Central Criminal Records Exchange, Sex Offender Registry, Missing Children Information Clearinghouse, Automated Fingerprint Identification System, and the Firearms Transaction Center. Additional information on these programs, including references to statutes contained in the Code of Virginia, are available via the links provided at the top of this page. Please e-mail specific questions to: Lt.CJIS@vsp.virginia.gov.
The following forms can be viewed, downloaded and/or printed from the Virginia State Police Forms page:
- SP-24, National Criminal Background Check For Employees or Volunteer Providing Care To Children, the Elderly and Disabled
- SP-69, Firearms Dealer Registration
- SP-190, Firearms Show Notification Form
- SP-115, Application for Machine Gun Registration
- State application for employment
Adobe® Acrobat® Reader™ software is required to view and print "PDF" publications.
You may download a free copy now by clicking on the Get Acrobat Reader button below.
Virginia State Police Identification Validation Guide For Fingerprinting
The Virginia State Police fee for taking fingerprints is $10 for the first card, $5 for each additional card (Additional cards are provided only on the original day printed). All fingerprinting payments must be cash (exact change required). Two forms of identification are required. One must be selected from the approved Photo Identification listing. The second form of identification can come from either the Photo Identification or Secondary Identification listing. Only original documentation is accepted; no photo copies will be allowed.
How long does it take to receive a response when a Criminal Record and/or Sex Offender Name Search Request form is submitted?
The average response time to a request is 12-15 business days. If somewhat more time has elapsed, you may call (804) 674-2024 to request a status check of your submission. Responses to telephone inquiries are returned at 9 a.m. and 4 p.m. daily.
What is the procedure for a person living outside of U. S. to obtain a copy of their criminal record?
You may obtain a copy of your criminal record by submitting a Criminal History Record Name Search which can be prefilled and printed from this Web site. The form requires a notarized signature and a fee of $15.00 is assessed for each request. Allow approximately 12-15 business days for processing.
Can I obtain criminal history information on someone else?
In order to obtain criminal history information on another individual, you must obtain their consent for release of the record by completing a Criminal History Record Name Search which can be prefilled and printed from this Web site. The form requires the notarized signature of the requestor, as well as the person named in the record, and a fee of $15.00 is assessed for each request. The results will contain conviction information maintained in Virginia’s files. Please allow approximately 12-15 business days to receive your response.
We need to conduct numerous employee criminal record name searches in the state of Virginia. How can we be authorized to request criminal record electronically?
There is a program called the Non-Criminal Justice Interface (NCJI). The agency must be a Virginia based company, have a PC with access to the Internet, and enter into an agreement with State Police. To initiate this service or request additional information, please write to the Department of State Police, Criminal Justice Information Services Division, P. O. Box 27472, Richmond, Virginia 23261-7472 or you may call (804) 674-6721 for instructions.
What do I need to do to get a copy of my criminal history for employment purposes?
To obtain criminal history information you must authorize the Department to provide your record by completing a Criminal History Record Name Search which can be prefilled and printed from this Web site. The form requires your notarized signature. A fee of $15.00 is assessed for each request. The response will contain only conviction information maintained in Virginia's files. Please allow approximately 12-15 business days to receive your response.
What are the laws concerning knives; specifically, the carrying of a non-concealed knife, and are there knife designs, blade sizes, etc., that are prohibited?
Virginia Code Section 18.2-311 describes certain weapons, including some knives, which are illegal to possess in Virginia. Additionally, refer to Virginia Code Section 18.2-308 for specific prohibitions concerning concealed weapons. It is suggested that you contact your county or city authorities to inquire as to whether or not there are applicable local ordinances.
Are firearms registered in Virginia?
With the exception of machine guns, firearms are not registered in Virginia.
May I travel through Virginia with a firearm in my vehicle?
Please refer to Transporting Firearms through Virginia in this web site.
May I “open carry” a firearm in Virginia?
A firearm may be carried openly in Virginia except where prohibited by statute. Please refer to Sections 18.2-279 to 18.2-311.2. The Code of Virginia may be searched at http://leg1.state.va.us/000/src.htm.
What is the legal age to purchase or possess a firearm?
A person must be at least 18 years of age to purchase a rifle or shotgun. To purchase a handgun from a licensed firearms dealer, you must be at least 21 years of age, pursuant to federal law. For statutory regulations concerning underage persons possessing firearms, refer to Virginia Code Section18.2-308.7, possession or transportation of certain firearms by persons under the age of eighteen.
What is the legal age to purchase ammunition?
Virginia law does not address age requirements for the purchase of ammunition. Federal law requires an individual to be at least 21 years of age to purchase handgun ammunition, and at least 18 years old to purchase rifle or shotgun ammunition.
What are the laws concerning the private sale of a handgun?
To privately sell a firearm, it is recommended that you safeguard information pertaining to the transaction such as the date the firearm was sold, the complete name and address of the buyer, and the make, model, and serial number of the firearm. The seller and buyer of a handgun must be a resident of the state in which the transfer occurs. Should the firearm ever be located at a crime scene, trace of the firearm will determine the licensed dealer who last sold the firearm and will identify the last buyer of the firearm. To have your name removed from this process, you may consider placing your firearm on consignment with a licensed dealer. This will also ensure that the firearm is transferred only to a lawfully eligible individual.
Why was my firearms purchase application placed in a status of delay?
The criminal history record information check required prior to the purchase of a firearm in Virginia is accomplished by a name check in conjunction with the purchaser's race, sex, and date of birth. It is not unusual for a "hit" response to occur upon query the national and state databases due to similar or exact personal descriptors of the prospective purchaser and those listed on an arrest record. When this occurs, review is necessary to determine if the prospective purchaser may be the same individual contained in these files, as well as lawful eligibility if probable identification is determined.
Does one have to have U.S. citizenship to be eligible to purchase a firearm?
A buyer who is a lawful permanent resident alien the United States may purchase firearms in the Commonwealth of Virginia pursuant to the same identification and residency requirements as a citizen. Prohibitions apply, however, to "any alien in the United States in a non-immigrant status" with certain exceptions and a waiver process. Contact the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives if you have questions about these regulations.
What are the disqualifications for the purchase of a firearm?
Please refer to Firearms Purchase Eligibility Test in this web site.
Are law enforcement officers subject to the background check when purchasing firearms?
Law enforcement offices are not exempt from the federal misdemeanor crime of domestic violence disqualification and therefore, must consent to a background check when purchasing firearms. The exception to this requirement is the purchase of a duty weapon from a licensed firearms dealer on behalf of an Employer’s Certification Letter.
Is a concealed handgun permit issued in another state valid or recognized in Virginia?
States with which Virginia has entered into concealed handgun permit reciprocity agreements, or which Virginia will grant recognition, are listed on our Reciprocity and Recognition page.
Are Virginia concealed handgun permits issued to non-Virginia residents?
Virginia Code Section 18.2-308.06 authorizes the issuance of concealed handgun permits to non-Virginia residents. Please refer to Nonresident Concealed Handgun Permits in this web site.
The address on my Resident Concealed Handgun Permit is no longer correct. Is my permit still valid?
Yes, but you may request a replacement permit if you wish. The clerk of a circuit court that issued a valid concealed handgun permit shall, upon presentation of the valid permit and proof of a new address of residence by the permit holder, issue a replacement permit specifying the permit holder's new address. See 18.2-308.011.
The address on my Nonresident Concealed Handgun Permit is no longer correct. Is my permit still valid?
Yes. Virginia Code Section 18.2-308.06, which governs the issuance of nonresident concealed handgun permits, makes no provisions for changes of address. A permit once issued remains valid until the expiration date is met, or upon suspension or revocation, regardless of the change of address. However, the Virginia State Police will issue change of address cards upon request. Holders of nonresident permits are requested to notify the Virginia State Police, Firearms Transaction Center (FTC) in writing at P.O. Box 85141, Richmond, VA, 23285-5141 or on-line at firstname.lastname@example.org. Additional information is available at http://www.vsp.virginia.gov/Firearms_NonresidentConcealed.shtm.
Are military personnel considered residents or nonresidents for the purpose of a concealed handgun permit?
Active military personnel, 21 years of age and older, assigned to a Virginia duty post or the Pentagon may apply for a Virginia resident permit, which are issued by the circuit court of the county or city in which the applicant resides. Virginia Code Section 18.2-308.02 (B.5.) authorizes current military service to be considered proof that the applicant has demonstrated competence with a handgun.
I am a new resident to Virginia and possess a concealed handgun permit issued by a permit-reciprocal state. Will my permit still be honored in Virginia?
A permit issued by a state in which Virginia has established concealed handgun permit reciprocity or recognition will be honored in Virginia as long as the permit remains valid regardless of the change of address. It is suggested that you confirm the validity of the permit with the issuing agency in this instance.
In the instance of a traffic stop, should I advise the police officer that I have a concealed handgun permit?
Virginia law does not require you to notify the officer that you have a permit. However, Section 18.2-308.01, of the Code of Virginia, requires you to be in possession of the permit whenever you are carrying a concealed handgun and to display the permit and a government-issued photo-identification upon demand by a law-enforcement officer.